Vintage Car Big Boy Bedroom Reveal

I can’t wait any longer.  There are a few lingering details that need to be added, but oh well. I want to share this RIGHT NOW.  My little man’s room needed to be transformed from the once gender neutral nursery, to a place he could call his own.
Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash; IMG_9504

Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash; IMG_9513
Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash; IMG_9526

We tried to create a space to fit his needs and my taste.  Hence VINTAGE (or at least retro) Cars.  Yes, He loves old stuff and I’m a car freak 😉 Or not!  He and his father both have a bit of grease monkey in their blood.  Something about a loud engine noise gets them gitty.  The makeover started last year (I like to pretend this project is like a good bottle of wine, that gets better with time) when we painted the walls and installed a barn board accent wall.  I wanted the room to grow with him so we kept to some basic masculine colors that were versatile: Grey-Blue, Deep Red, and Navy was the initial color palette we had selected. Here’s a look at the before version of this room.
Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash;

The finer details helped bring this room together.  In fact the vintage car theme didn’t really happen until we attended a local car show and there were several vendors selling what I would call vintage car parts.  For me, going to a car show on a 90+ degree day is exciting as watching turds flush down the toilet, I can find 200 other things that I’d prefer to do.  Seeing that I was being nice, the vendors and their junk made this tolerable and now I have an excuse to go to another one.  If you’re looking for a few car accessories, that here I picked them up (all for about $10) and look how cool they make stuff look….
Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash; IMG_9503
(blinker frame) License Plate Word Art

Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash; IMG_9511
(Manual Window knobs) Hooks

Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash;
(Door Handle) night stand hardware

Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash; IMG_9506
(Emblems) Wall Art

Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash; IMG_9505
(License Plate) Wall Art

All of these little things helped bring the room together. We happen to have a friend who owns a 1971 Pontiac Le Mans, who was kind enough to let me do a photography shoot to create some custom artwork for the room. There are 4 profile poster prints of the car (Rear profile,  Driver side emblem, Full profile, and the dashboard).  I also added a few of my husbands model cars that he put together as a kid.

Between my husband and I we created or repurposed nearly EVERYTHING.  The barn board accent wall was installed last winter break. Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash;

The dresser was the next project,
Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash;
repurposed Craigslist dresser with a DIY chalk paint.  Apparently the day I revealed the dresser, I spent the next 3 days doing laundry with the looks of that hamper!  Either way, I managed to complete the clip on curtains,
Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash;
and open concept book shelves. Then I had a baby, and seeing how there was nothing that would cause great bodily harm, this was where the room stalled for about 3 months.
Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash;

Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash;

I recovered a lamp shade to fit with the style of the room, and eventually made the rest of the lamp to match. Both set on top of a Anna White inspired night stand.

square lampshade makeover

Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash; IMG_9515

I turned a basic craft store crate into a wall locker by adding a few shelves and a layer of paint, which held some fun collectible materials and the new navy “C” which was reincarnated from his baby room.

Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash; IMG_9506

Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash; IMG_9505

The “hang out” sign combined the barn board with retro car paraphernalia to be a functional hook for towels mostly, but occasionally a jacket or sweatshirt.  I like to pretend that if I create cool hooks that my kids will actually hang something up.  Ha, a girl can dream, and make something neat along the way 🙂

Finally I created a padded drop cloth and nail head trimmed head-board.  Amazing what my husbands left over roofing nails can do.
Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash; IMG_9517

Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash; IMG_9520

Little-d-Tales: Fostering a Creative Life &emdash; IMG_9513

The bedding was one of the few things I bought and left as is, thanks to Target.  I enjoy hanging out in little man’s room so much that usually I lay reading him books and snuggle with him.  Then I get all jealous that he has a cool room while mine is all frumpy and cluttered.

So what do you think.  Any tutorials you want first?

Linking to: The Creative Girl, Keeping it Simple, Sumo’s sweet stuff, Craft-O-Maniac, Not Just a Housewife, Home Stories A to Z, Salt Tree

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Vintage Car Big Boy Bedroom Reveal

  1. I love it! My kids share a very baby room and I’d love to do something to make it more of a compromise. this is awesome!

  2. Jen

    What a great big boy room. My little boy would love it! Nice work!

  3. I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit this weblog on regular
    basis to obtain updated from latest gossip.

  4. Brittany

    I love this room! We are about to do a vintage car theme in my son’s new big boy room also! Do you remember what color the wall paint is?

Leave a Reply

