Tissue Paper Wall Art

I had seen this technique years ago when a friend printed pictures of her kids on to tissue paper and glued them onto tiles as coasters.  I thought I’d try the same technique for some wall art in my bathroom.

For this project you’ll need:
tissue paper (I used white)
canvas
Mod Podge or similar adhesive
paint brush
printer
plain white printer paper
Scotch tape

Optional:
Pearlizing Medium
sand
polyurethane spray

To start find an image or clip art online that you want to print.  Play with your print settings to make the image fit the page. I ran a test print run on regular paper a few times until I got the size that I wanted.  Then, using the scotch tape, tape the tissue paper onto the plain computer paper making sure not to cover any of the area that will be printed with the tape. Again you might want to have a few extra sheets of tissue paper handy in case they tear or smear.

Carefully remove the tissue paper from the computer paper.  Brush a thin layer of Mod Podge onto the blank canvas and lay the tissue paper print over the top.

Cover the top of the tissue paper with a thin layer of Mod Podge.

The ink color was a little too drastic for me so I added a layer of Americana Pearlizing Medium.  This tamed down the ink colors, and gave some depth to the texture of the tissue paper.

Then because I was curious, I painted some Mod Podge around the print and added a little sand for even more texture.  I like it on the sand dollar, but not so much on the coral. Oh well, can’t love them all, right?! To keep the sand on the canvas and not all over my bathroom floor, I sprayed a layer of Polyurethene to put a clear finish on it.

Hang and enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under DIY Projects, Tutorials

2 responses to “Tissue Paper Wall Art

  1. Pingback: May Review |

  2. Pingback: The “Together” Art Journal Page | scribology

Leave a Reply

