Scrap Fabric Tree

I’m going to apologize in advance for 2 things.
1. The lack of pictures in this post.
2.  The quality of lighting in most of my posts.
I’m a crafty mom who works Full-time and lives in Wisconsin. The daylight hours are 6:30 AM to 4:45 PM, hence all nice natural light is consumed while I’m at work.  And since I do most of my crafting, decorating, and “pretty stuff” between the hours of 8-11 PM, there are few options for good pictures.

I digress.  This seriously was a “Hmm, what could I do with these scraps” kind of project.  Grab a glue gun and styrofoam cone and you have yourself a Scrap Fabric Tree

Simply cut fabric into strips about 3/4″-1″ wide by about 2.5″ long.  Randomly hot glue them to the styrofoam cone.  Keep layering until the cone is no longer visible.  To get the flimsy look only attach a part of the fabric strip and leave some of it loose.  The idea is to be “intentionally random” in appearance.  How’s that for decor lingo.  The hardest part of this project is to not burn your fingers and then pulling off all the hot glue webs everywhere.

I placed my little tree on top of my kitchen cupboards for a little country red vignette.

To learn more about the decoupaged candles check out this post.  For more on tiered vases and displays, stay tuned to the

where many more ornaments, recipes, gifts and ideas will be shared until Christmas.

Linking to :

Home Stories A2Z
1 Comment

Filed under DIY Projects, Inspiration

One response to “Scrap Fabric Tree

  1. I like your creativity 🙂 Great ideas for Holiday decor. Now you have made me want to get outdoors and do some shopping 😀

    Leslie

Leave a Reply

