Infamous TP pumpkins {no sew Fabric Pumpkin}

I’m sure you’ve seen these a hundred times.  Cheap toilet paper (which is scarce at homecoming), tissue paper, adorable fabric,and sticks to create a simple and easy fall decor item.

I decided to create these the past few years as a versatile way to add color to my fall decor.  While I love pumpkins, gourds, and all the other festive crops, the colors get a little monotonous for me.  In order to appreciate this post you’ll need to know that I am a bargain whore.  I am consistently scouring thrift stores, rummage sales,  and trash piles to find something that I can create with.  Much of the fabric used for this project was acquired from old bed spreads or fancy shams; fabric remnants that were 90% off at a local crafts stores, or re-purposed clothing that was practically given to me. Trust me there are many more project like this in my realm of creativity.


Cut fabric into approximately 13″ x 13″ squares.  Place a few pieces of tissue paper on top of the fabric and place the cheap roll of toilet paper in the middle.  I tend to squash the toilet paper roll to give it a little more character, by placing both of my hands on the top of the roll and applying all my body weight to my hands.  Then grab the corners of the fabric (and tissue paper) and tuck into the center of the toilet paper roll.

Once all edge are tucked in nicely add your “stick” stem.  I say stick, because I literally found a about a 1″ diameter stick about 2′ long on the side of the road during a walk with little man and dog one afternoon.  I had the husband cut into 3″ piece and thus I have pumpkin stems.  I really like the rustic look to them over some other crafted stems I have seen.

I have also created mini-TP-Pumkins by cutting the roll of toilet paper in half with a serrated knife.  Follow the same process, but use less of your supplies! Nice compliment for a pumpkin patch.

That’s it.  I don’t use glue or any fancy leaves or anything.  Just a little love of thrift and cheap toilet paper.  I like to see it as a way to save everyone’s behind from ever having to use that brutal stuff on your behind, or a pretty back up to the emergency realization that there is no toilet paper in the house!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY Projects, Gift of Thrift, Inspiration, Tutorials

Leave a Reply

