For the Love of Jute {DIY Ballard Design}

My lust for these demijohns jars from Ballard has been nagging at me.  As soon as I saw the green glass I knew I needed something like this. (Note: This set has been discontinued, but my lust still lingers)

I scoured thrift stores and rummage sales and finally found a pair of green canning jars at a rummage sale for 50 cents each.  I snagged them and began my quest for my own fish net style creation. I had seen bloggers create these before, but after several attempts at their tutorials I needed to modify a few things.  Luckily I had some Jute string on hand (but I have seen rolls at Michael’s for about $3-$4. a roll).  To start I created a single ring of Jute around the neck of the bottle.  Then I cut 5 strings, 3 times the length of the bottle.  I chose 5 strings because I have a pretty narrow bottle, I think you may want to add more if you have a wider bottle.   Then I folded each of the 5 strings in half, pushing the halfway loop under the ring at the neck of the bottle, and pulled the ends through to create a tight, even 10 strands of string. I spaced each of my strings out about an inch apart around the neck of the bottle.

Then I took the right-sided string from one pair, and the left-sided string from the next pair and tied a square knot about a 3/4 inch from the neck of the bottle.  For those who have a hard time remembering how to make a square knot, my rule of thumb for a square knot is “left over right, right over left.”

Continue to do this around the bottle continuously.  As you get to the 3rd round of knots I tied the knots about an 1 or 1 1/2 inches from the knot above, it helps keep in smooth on the bottle.

One trick that I found is if you work with the bottle between your knees and pull the strings down towards the bottle of the jar, your knots stay tight to the jar and you don’t get any goofy gaps or kinks in your knots.

Here’s is how I differ from most other tutorials.  Once I got the bottom the string kept pulling all the knots ups, so I needed to find a way to secure them all at the bottom while keeping the rest tight.  My solution was to make a round of square knots all the way to the bottom of the bottle, maybe even over the bottom edge a little.  Then pulling the strings tight I tied the strings across from each other.  I found that if I did it correctly, you get a really neat star shape design on the bottom of the bottle.  The trick is to make sure that your square knots stay flat enough to allow the glass to still stand.

Here they are, I’m in my glory and completely satisfied with the $1 investment and 45 minutes of my time for these adorable duos 🙂

My love for Jute didn’t stop there… stay tuned to see my next creation!

Partying at:
Not Just a Housewife
DIY Showoff
Sumo Sweet Stuff
Bella Before & After
Home Stories a to z
Sugar Bee Crafts
Newlyweds on a Budget
What I whipped up Wednesday
Sew Much Ado
Laugh, Love & Craft

Tip Junkie handmade projects

17 Comments

Filed under Before/After, DIY Projects, Inspiration

17 responses to “For the Love of Jute {DIY Ballard Design}

  1. Very Cute Heidi, love it simple and beautiful … I must try one
    Now I am back from my vacations and in blogging world too…
    A little post to share some of my moments of vacation… hope you like to visit and enjoy it…
    http://craftaworld.blogspot.com/
    Love
    Farah

  2. I will have to do this!! I love it!

  3. What a good idea and what a fantastic tutorial this is. The jars look very pretty now. Good job!

  4. These are fantastic! I love how you did them. I would love it if you came and linked this up to my weekly link party Tutorial Tuesday

    Kari
    Newlyweds on a Budget

  5. I didn’t know how to do that. Thanks!

  6. I love that you showed the tutorial of how to tie it. Great!

  7. Pingback: Tutorials & Tips Not to Miss {24} | Home Stories A to Z

  8. Pingback: Jute Covered Green Glass Jars — Knock Off Decor

  9. Suz In Florida

    So glad you shared this! I have some glass fishing balls that have this type of netting. It has started deteriorate from hanging in the Florida sun ‘n rain. Now I can make them look new again! Yee haw!

  10. Pingback: Love of Jute Part 2 {Jute wrapped bowl} «

  11. Lou

    Hi! Just love of what you did here. ls there any way that l could get print out instructions on how to this project. Looks so different, unique! l cannot see any printer friendly any where. Please help! Thanking you in advance~ Lou-Ellen

  12. LutheranChick

    Hello Heidi,

    I used your instructions for knotting jars with jute in order to make decorative candle holders and wanted to post pictures of the final product on DeviantArt. I was wondering how you would like me to display that I used your knowledge in the process of making it in the description. Also, if you have any problems with me posting the pictures, please let me know. Thanks a bunch!

    ❤ Luthy

  13. Pingback: Decorate With Jute

  14. Pingback: Jute fish net weave for bottles..Easiest tutorial I have found. | Dreamy Blog

Leave a Reply

